Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Social Spaces

Jake63
Senior Contributor

Journalling for positive mental health!

I am wondering if any of my lovely forumites enjoy writing in their journal to take care of their mental health? I have been journalling now for the past 5 years. I love it.

10 REPLIES 10

Re: Journalling for positive mental health!

It’s been suggested to me @Jake63 but am yet to start. How does it work?

Do you have a process @Jake63 or do you just write whatever pops into your head?

Would love to hear more about it if you are happy to share.

Warm regards

Hanami

Good morning lovely @hanami!

I definitely would not say there is a process to it. There is no process. I like to write about things that people said to me that day, things that happened at work, I write about my dreams. So yeah, I probably do write about what pops into my head. I don't journal every single day, sometimes I don't journal for weeks on end. But I have been journaling since 2020 (that's my digital journal on Google Docs) and then I have a physical journal that I started in 2016! I found handwriting my journal much harder the typing in my journal. 

Hey @Jake63 thanks for sharing that. I find it really interesting as I love to write and have started a journal several times but always end up stopping. 

I love to handwrite but then get a sore hand so perhaps a digital journal would be better for me.

Hanami ❤️

I try and journal but sometimes find it hard everyday so I just do it when I feel the need to 

Sometimes it's very helpful and other rimes it's more of a hindrance because it doesn't make sense like my brain sometimes which runs 100 miles an hour most days